Last update: May 5th, 2023
HIPAAVIDEO.net, Inc. (“us”, “we”, or “our”) operates the https://www.hipaalink.net website (the “Platform”).
Information Collection and Use
While using the Platform, we may ask all users to provide us with certain personally identifiable information that can be used to contact or identify you. Personally identifiable information includes:
- Data you provide when you create an account, such as your name and email address.
If You're a Health Care Provider
If you are a Health Care Provider as defined under 42 U.S.C. §300jj (each a “Provider” and collectively, “Providers”), you warrant that your use of the Platform conforms with all applicable laws, rules and regulations.
From Providers, we collect the following additional personal identifiable information:
- First and last name
- Specialty and additional information provided by you when branding and customizing your Waiting Room such as your National Provider Identifier (“NPI”), mobile phone number, practice area
By using the Platform, you allow us to contact you by email regarding features, changes, maintenance, and other products that may be introduced from time-to-time on the Platform. In addition, if you enable notifications within the Platform, we will send you a notification that your client is waiting in the Waiting Room.
You may also share your Personal Link with your clients. Your Personal Link can be used to securely host your Patient sessions.
If You're a Patient
This section only applies if you have received a unique invitation by a Provider and wish to communicate with the Provider by video conference using the Service. Some features are not activated automatically and require explicit authorization by you.
No Protected Health Information ("PHI") is stored by us or the Platform
No PHI is collected by us, and we use end-to-end encryption to protect any PHI that a Provider may send to a client while using the Platform.
Types of Data Processed
Name to Enter Waiting Room
A Patient does not need an account or register with us to use the Platform.
A Provider will email or text a link to a Patient for entry into the Waiting Room. When a Patient clicks on that link, it will take the Patient to the welcome screen and Patient will be asked to enter their name and click a button to enter the Waiting Room.
Your name is only seen by the Provider and used for an initial identification. There is no verification of the entry, nor is there a requirement that you use your full name. Your name is used only for the current session and is not stored or otherwise used by the Platform.
At any time while you’re using the Platform, you may disable the audio, video, or both. Doing so may prevent effective communication between the Provider and the Patient. However, there may be times when you wish to disable the audio or video for personal reasons.
You may also close any open sessions with a Provider at any time.
If a Patient chooses to share files to the Provider through the Platform, that file will be sent securely with end-to-end encryption and no copy will be saved on our servers.
Notes & Whiteboard
The Platform enables Providers to communicate with Patients through chats and a whiteboard. Providers may have interactive chats with a Patient. The Platform does not store any communications made between a Provider and a Patient. Any chats between you and the Provider are temporarily stored in your local computer memory; however, the chats are deleted when the session concludes.
Sharing Your Screen
The Platform provides a feature whereby you may share all or part of you computer screen with the Provider. You will be sent a message to confirm that you wish to share your screen or a specific window.
There are obvious privacy issues associated with sharing one’s screen. It is up to you to ensure that no sensitive or confidential information (other than that which you wish to show the Provider) be viewable during the screensharing session.
For instance, if you do not wish the Provider to see your email system or other open windows, it would be best to terminate those applications prior to the screenshare.
We may also collect information that your browser sends whenever you visit the Platform (“Log Data”). This Log Data may include information such as your computer’s Internet Protocol (“IP”) address, browser type, browser version, the pages of the Platform that you visit, the time and date of your visit, the time spent on those pages and other statistics.
You can instruct your browser to refuse all cookies or to indicate when a cookie is being sent. The Help feature on most browsers provide information on how to accept cookies, disable cookies or to notify you when receiving a new cookie.
If you do not accept cookies, you may not be able to use some features of the Platform and we recommend that you leave them turned on.
Do Not Track Disclosure
We support Do Not Track (“DNT”). Do Not Track is a preference you can set in your web browser to inform websites that you do not want to be tracked. You can enable or disable Do Not Track by visiting the Preferences or Settings page of your web browser.
3rd Party Service Providers
We may employ third party service provicers to provide certain functionality on the Platform, such as payment processing or cloud services. These third party service providers may have access to your certain pieces of your personal information only to perform specific tasks; however, the Platform does not transmit any PHI to any third party vendor that we may use.
We may use your contact information to contact you with newsletters, marketing or promotional materials and other information that may be of interest to you. You may opt out of receiving any, or all, of these communications from us by following the unsubscribe link or instructions provided in any email we send.
Compliance with Laws
We will disclose your personal information where required to do so by law or subpoena or if we believe that such action is necessary to comply with the law and the reasonable requests of law enforcement or to protect the security or integrity of the Platform.
The security of your personal information is important to us, and we strive to implement and maintain reasonable, commercially acceptable security procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information we store, in order to protect it from unauthorized access, destruction, use, modification, or disclosure.
However, please be aware that no method of transmission over the internet, or method of electronic storage is 100% secure and we are unable to guarantee the absolute security of the personal information we have collected from you.
Your information, including personal information, may be transferred to — and maintained on — computers located outside of your state, province, country or other governmental jurisdiction where the data protection laws may differ than those from your jurisdiction. If you are located outside United States and choose to provide information to us, please note that we transfer the information, including personal information, to United States and process it there.
Links to Other Websites
We have no control over, and assume no responsibility for the content, privacy policies or practices of any third party sites or services.
Only persons age 18 or older have permission to access the Platform. The Platform does not address anyone under the age of 13 (“Children”).
We do not knowingly collect personally identifiable information from children under 13. If you are a parent or guardian and you learn that your Children have provided us with personal information, please contact us. If we become aware that we have collected personal information from a child under age 13 without verification of parental consent, we will take steps to remove that information from our servers.